Thursday, March 11, 2010

The End Of Pi As We Know It

I've been tinkering with the music once more and even added a short new track today but I'm generally happy with the results, and want to get it finished now. I have changed the pi symbol, thanks for that John. I did want to do it in the first place but had lots of trouble getting a pi symbol rasterised in a high enough resolution. In the end I downloaded and used Gimp which I suspected would do it (but Gimp's text handling is very user-unfriendly).

I changed the main font to Times New Roman italic, which gives it a feel of maths text book. Here is the rear of the CD...

The track listing is:

1. The Ratio (1:12)
2. 256 Binary Digits (0:45)
3. The Clockwork Harpsichord (2:48)
4. Stranded At Moonbase Eight (4:44)
5. Decimal Drumkit (0:32)
6. Binary Ocean (3:20)
7. Pentatonic Fantasy (2:34)
8. The Crystal Garden (5:52)
9. Radiation (0:27)
10. Trio (2:06)
11. Base 36 (31:41)
12. Pi (3:14)
13. The Enigma Of Pi (0:45)

There are details of the tracks on my website now...

I'll not put any music online until the official launch on Sunday. My next priority is to upload the mp3 and FLAC files. The thirty minute track is pretty huge in file size.

I'm very fed up with pi by the way. I can now rest for a day or two and then get back to painting.


Kathy said...

Looks great, Mark!

Sheila said...

You truly are a Renaissance Man are you Mark.

Mark Sheeky said...

Thanks! Music, painting, dance, poetry... they're not exclusive artforms but can complement and assist each other... perhaps you could try to dance one of your paintings? I await the YouTube video :)